Open vision bar

WCPS Teachers Recognized for Classroom of Excellence




WCPS Preschool teachers Judy Ged (Alvaton), Jennifer Hawkins (Cumberland Trace) and Donna Smith (North Warren) and instructional assistants Tina King (Alvaton), Maura Carson and Allison Grider (Cumberland Trace) and former North Warren instructional assistant, Kathryn Honeycutt, were recently awarded the prestigious Classroom of Excellence designation from the Kentucky Department of Education. These three classrooms were added to the list of 37 Kentucky state-funded preschool classrooms, out of over 1,000 eligible classrooms in Kentucky.  Both preschool classrooms at Bristow Elementary, teachers Kahli Claywell and Lisa Miller, have also earned this designation. The preschool programs at Plano Elementary and Rich Pond Elementary have been awarded this honor in the past. This award is the result of a rigorous process that only the best teachers and classrooms will even attempt.


Classroom Graphic


Kentucky Preschool Classrooms of Excellence is a voluntary application process that helps to ensure that the children of Kentucky enrolled in the state-funded preschool program, experience early learning in the highest quality settings.  Included in the process is an intensive self-study that evaluates the classroom environment, adult child interactions as well as other research-based characteristics of high quality. To learn more about Classrooms of Excellence, go to the link below.

Back to School News       Print