Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Greenwood adding to its Athletic Hall of Fame

Greenwood High School's Athletic Hall of Fame will get some new members January 30. Nine individuals and two state-champion softball teams will be inducted during ceremonies scheduled for January 30th. The induction is scheduled for 4:00 p.m. in the GHS auditorium, and the new Hall of Fame members will also be recognized at the girl-boy basketball doubleheader against Cumberland County that evening.


Individuals being inducted: Melissa Coffey (1996), a basketball standout; Peggy Cowles, Greenwood's principal from 1990 until 2002; Ryan Eaton (2010), who won multiple state championships in track and cross country; Tim Freeman (1999), a baseball star; Tom Frericks (2000), a basketball standout; Amy Helliwell, who won multiple championships as girls' soccer coach from 1998 through 2008; Amanda Howard (2006), a standout on some championship GHS volleyball teams; Erin Palladay (1996), who starred in soccer, basketball and softball; and Brittany York (2006), an All-State softball player who later played at the University of Louisville.


In addition, the 2007 and 2008 Greenwood softball teams that won back-to-back state championships are being inducted. The Lady Gators were 40-5 in 2007 and 37-9 in 2008. Members of the state-champion teams being inducted: Coaches Penny Reece and Candace Calhoun Wray and players Elizabeth Ferrell, Amanda Hargett, Rachel Riley, Ali Hart, Taylor Proctor, Ashli Alford, Peyton Price, Chelsea Birchell, Whitnee Lee, Laura Smith, Taylor Oliver, Krista Cummings, Lindsey Green, Amanda Bailey, Jessie Dunning, Hannah Pearson, Amanda Walden, Jessica Cunningham, Amy Hockstedler, Kaysha Wheeler, and Elizabeth Jordan.

Back to School News      Print News Article