Open vision bar

Middle School Realignment FAQ #13

Are current middle school teachers equipped to work with 6th grade students?  How does teacher certification match up with this potential change?

Teacher certifications have changed over time.  However, over the last 10 years, the Educational Professional Standards Board has primarily issued these base certifications: 

  • K – 5th grade
  • 5th – 9th grade
  • 8th – 12th grade

Exemptions are often granted to allow individual staff members with the appropriate qualifications to teach up or down one grade level.  For a complete listing of certifications, you can visit the EPSB’s site:

In Warren County Public Schools, no teacher is ever in charge of a classroom if they are not certified to teach the content or the grade level of students within that particular classroom.  Considering this information, middle school teachers are well equipped to successfully work with 6th grade students.